Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Is ghosting pretty standard on BM?

Succuboi

Moon
Pretty self explanatory by the title really. I haven't been here long, but so far my experience has been....disappointing to say the least. I've had five or six people, including an Admin, all just up and ghost me. Am I just getting the wrong group of people? Or is this just pretty common on this forum?

And how do you successful RP'rs avoid getting sucked into wasting your time building a plot, only to get ghosted? I'm a pretty experienced writer and Roleplayer, but it seems I have trash judgement because I can't seem to notice the warning signs.

What are some warning signs in your experience? Things to look out for?

I don't know if there are any true warning signs. I've been ghosted plenty and I just try to move on. It sucks if you get decently into a story but it does happen. You just have to keep pushing forward. Ive been able to find two great partners who I've been playing with for over a year. Don't let yourself get discouraged

I can't speak for everyone, just myself, but I've had people think I "ghosted" them, when really I'm just... busy. I don't think to pop on to update everyone on my posting schedule every single day, and I've replied to a RP after an amount of time and had someone go "oh, I thought you ghosted me". I think a lot of ghosting is just communication mix-ups, to be honest.

I'll usually wait a week or so and give a nudge. What really lets me know if I've been ghosted is if I see them bumping their request thread, especially after I've already had to nudge them a time or two

I think ghosting is fairly common in RP in general. It's not unique to BMR, but the chance of it happening is higher on an adult forum like this due to IRL responsibilities and such. You may wish to discuss ghosting with your partner and make sure you're on the same page about it. Sadly, there's no way to really prevent ghosting.