Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Need constructive criticism? Send me a DM.

Exemplary Characters

But exemplary of what?
Short and to the point: I'm an author and editor by trade, and I've been doing this for quite some time.

If you need constructive, skills-focused criticism of your writing, send me a DM and I'll give you a thorough crit and high-level, issues-based summary of key areas for you to focus on, tailored to your stage of development as a writer. I remember how hard it was to learn when I started out, so you won't get shade from me.

For an example of how I write casually (as in, I'd never publish any of this, it's too rough), here's the openings to two stories I've recently started on here:

Fantasy in a style that mixes high fantasy with a more modern and colloquial voice said:
Autumn was a dreary season throughout the region, but the city had felt tired even before the clouds turned grey, its once thriving commerce now ebbing, the absence of ships felt by the quiet where once the rowdy sailors had roared, laughed, and fought their way up the hill to the taverns. Instead of human warmth, tonight the streets were alive with the thunder of the storm overhead, gutters overflowing in the downpour, cobblestones sheeted with running water that raced down toward the port and spilled into the murky harbour.

Some hour or more had passed since the pale sun had set, and – for all that the street lamps had been lit – the night was nearly impenetrable beneath the cloud cover, imperilling pedestrians as they darted between the carts that came up from the warehouses for overnight deliveries. To be outside was to be cold, wet, and possibly trampled.

Fuck that.