Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Wanting Opnion on 5E Subclass

Beauvoir

Female Cenobite
So we’re currently doing a campaign with gestalt. I’m pretty new to dnd just a couple years playing on and off, weekly, bi-weekly, monthly. Anyway currently my classes are a homebrew caster called the puppeteer and a monk. At the moment my monastic tradition is way of the ascendant dragon because it really connects with the backstory. I’m thinking of changing it though because it’s giving me a bunch of features I already have like wings and dragon’s breath. I found this homebrew monastic tradition on Pinterest and was wanting to get a few DnD veterans opinions on it. It would also make sense for backstory as my character is a fallen angel.

I’ve never played a monk before and I’m not great with the finer points so opinions would be appreciated!

Without knowing the level of power that your table utilizes it's hard to give opinions but, at a glance, this homebrew is incredibly disjointed and rather overpowered in certain areas.

I did a search to find the original homebrew just to see what others said about it and the first comment sums up my opinions with it as well honestly so I'll just quote that here rather than re-hash the same points. I will add though that nothing about this feels like a monk tradition in the slightest. All the abilities it provides would make just as much sense for a sorcerer, barbarian, or fighter by comparison in my opinion and that's never a good sign when making homebrew for a specific class.

AlasBabylon_

I would honestly drop the spellcasting altogether. The rest of the subclass doesn't care about the spells whatsoever, and it's an extra resource on top of the ki points that monks get that they really don't need.