Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Paper vs plastic grocery bags

Kelly4

Meteorite
This was an in-depth conversation with my friends during freshman year of college while passing a joint. At the time, it was which was better – plastic was bad for the environment, but paper required cutting down trees, blah blah. Now that I have my undergraduate degree and am more worldly, here's the thought I had today: You can look good or at least neutral carrying a paper bag, but nobody can look good carrying a plastic one. You look like a bag lady.

I'm trying to get above my new member three post requirement.

Plastic. Recyclable as a general rule. Also many uses. One of which being that my cat actually enjoys getting into them and letting me carry her around. 😂 But seriously.

We need the trees.....and I’m awkward, so carrying a paper bag just makes me look all the more awkward.

Neither.

For small amounts of shopping I bring my own ruck-sack and for my weekly shopping I have a crate that I've been using so far for 2 years and shows no signs of wear and tear.

I typically shop at Aldi and they have these really high quality plastic bags that I like to use when I go shopping. I use them over and over again. I haven't used paper in so long. Plastic all the way for me! I always make sure to recycle it when done also. ^^

They have banned bringing own bag here in California and some other states because of the virus. Now they are offering the cheap plastic or paper bags again for free.

My local recycler will not take plastic bags, I either have to take them to a specialty place or throw them away. So I attempt to get as much use out of them as possible.

I would like to use more paper; but the construction is often too poor and they break on me at some inopportune times.

Near me plastic as always been available and it's the most used by far!