Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

How much OOC Plot discussion is too much OOC Plot discussion?

Lekhika

Wide eyed little bird
Hi! So I was just going by my past rp experiences. I have been roleplaying in many mediums for about eight years now and I’ve found something common to all the mediums.

The more I discuss and plot a story OOC with a partner, the less I see it to completion. I don’t know why this is the case. Sure the ooc friendship is fine, but the more we plan out how a story should go, it feels like the element of surprise is lost and therefore the whole purpose to finish the RP.

I have a few great stories going and unsurprisingly it’s with partners who just delved into writing after a basic ironing out of necessary details. Every post from them is a surprise and I find myself engaged in the story. Surely I enjoy setting up plays like that!

And so I politely mentioned to some players that approached me to write with, that after a basic discussion of limits and likes, let’s just get to writing and see where the story takes us. This put them off, surprisingly. While I understand the need to get the basics hammered out, I don’t feel the need to plot out every move the characters make beforehand now.

I’ve found that doing that is fun, and the OOC back and forth in itself is good, but when it comes to the actual story, it fizzles out.

Am I alone in feeling this? Thoughts?

Interesting! I just felt like the partners that this happened with likely felt that the ‘fun’ was anyway over and failed to put in the effort. I’m still not lost of all hope though, it just seemed to be a curious correlation.