Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

A little self-marketing advice?

Wuthers

Planetoid
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to Blue Moon and have had some difficulty finding partners to write with. I do have one active PM roleplay with a talented writer that I'm enjoying very much, and which I am grateful to have, but I'm in the market to take on one or two more RPs and have questions about the best way to approach other writers on this site. I hope this doesn't sound whiny - I don't mean for it to - but I AM genuinely hopeful to gain some insight into things I can do differently to make myself more appealing to potential partners. I feel like I'm doing a lot of guessing right now and not getting far with it.

So, okay. A study in profiles:

I recognize I don't have a lot of posts on this site, or an avatar. I also don't have a plot thread. These are all personal choices I've made based on where I want to place my energy. I am curious if, from other people's experience, plot threads are the best/most helpful ways to gain partners? Is it better if they're more detailed, or less? Will an avatar help, or does it matter? When you receive a PM from someone responding to your plot thread, what is the best way for them to introduce themselves to you?

My best advice is look/do what you want. It's meant to be a hobby.

Honestly, I think a lot of it is in the approach. I would say most of my partners came from me stalking their RTs. I don't think the pfp matters much over all, but everyone has different feelings about them. There was a thread a while ago all about it.

I don't know what it looks like when you reach out to see if someone would like to RP, but I would suggest being a bit outgoing, perhaps putting a post example, seeing as you don't have any rps that people can see. You could try a journal for those too and link it in your signature.