Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Psych's Low Budget Cooking Blog (comments & recipes welcome)

psych80

The Mindful Cook
Supporter
Welcome to my kitchen!

A little about me:
I'm a married father of four and a stay at home dad. Around our house I do all of the cooking and try to make my family healthy, tasty, and fun meals nearly every day of the week. I've always enjoyed cooking but in the last couple of years I've really dug deep into the subject to learn as much as I can. I am by no means a professional but I do think that for an amateur I'm not too bad at what I do. I cook a lot of standard American fair but I also try to get some Indian, Korean, Chinese, Italian, Mexican, etc cuisine in when I can.

Mission of this blog:
There are a few things I hope I can share here that might be of use or interest to some of my fellow BMRers.
  1. Cooking on a Budget - Thanks to my professional life I know a bit about budgeting. Living paycheck to paycheck for a while also forces people to get frugal but it's not always obvious how you can save money and still eat well. I have a TON of tricks for this. I hope to share and would love to hear your tricks as well!
  2. Great Recipes - I'm always on the hunt for recipes that are fun to make, taste great, and will feed my big ol' family.
  3. Kitchen Equipment - I want to share what I've learned over the last few years about what to buy and what to avoid. I'm constantly reading reviews and magazines/blogs/etc to find new ways that the tools I own can help me. Some of these things might be more obvious than others. I also plan to share some product reviews here as well that will hopefully help some of you.

I'm sure this little intro post will change and evolve with time but hopefully you'll keep coming back and enjoy the content I hope to share here! My first real post will get put up soon discussing some basic kitchen equipment that I highly suggest for any/all kitchens.