Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Frustrations

RoleplayMaster

Supernova
If this is in the wrong area, feel free to move it. I just wanted to rant a little bit over some frustrations I am having.

Roleplay is a thing I have loved doing ever since I discovered it. It allows me to ignore whatever shit thing is going on in my real life, and just immerse myself in a different life that is so much better. Over time, I've gathered different kinks, interests, skills, and so on. All in all, I see myself as a decent writer, that goes for quality over quantity (couple of paragraphs).

Looking at me from an outside perspective, I can see I have some issues. Due to my need to escape reality, I am clingy at times. And sometimes if a partner writes something that doesn't seem right, it ruins my immersion, as well as ruins my interest in the RP, either for a brief time or it completely makes me stop.

Despite my issues, I still think I'm a good writer, and a good partner. So it feels so frustrating to me when potential partners don't show the same respect that I try to have. I'll write an intro, and 20% of the time, I will never get a response. I'll write a post in a RP, and then find out that I'm blocked without an explanation as to why. Or I'll explain my issues with a RP, and then find out that my partner loved the RP so much that I'm suddenly a bad guy for even mentioning the idea that it needs to change.

Now, this isn't made to insult or shame people. It's just frustrating that this is something I love doing, yet I can't RP with 50% of the site thanks to them only playing things I'm not into, a further 30% don't appeal to me in terms of post length or quality, and another 10% are previous partners that have grown bored of me. That leaves me with 10% of the site, some of which are completely new members to the forum that may leave the website within a week.