Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

About Narrative Styles and Metagaming

WaveVelour

Star
Hello! Lately I’ve been talking with one of my fun RP partners about the writing styles we use in our scene. Then I’ve looked up a bit and come across a blog which precisely categorize what I’ve been thinking about pretty point on. I’m not very experienced in RPing, so it was interesting to learn that the way I’ve been writing had an actual name or category of sorts. I couldn’t find that blog again, but will link to it if I can, although I’m sure it’s pretty common knowledge to the experienced players out there.

I’ve learnt that two common ways to write a post are using narrative and immersive styles. I guess what I do falls into the narrative style. It’s a bit hard to explain, but I usually write my posts as an all knowing narrator, while limiting MC’s dialogue and actions to what they know ICly. Though, that immersive style as it’s named, uses a more, well immersive approach, explaining things through what YC already knows, as in writing their inner thoughts. I admit, it’s more fun to read posts written that way for me. But sometimes it could also cause confusion. For example, in dub-con or non-con themed RPs, one can wrongly assume that when a character doesn’t like how things are going in a scene, it also means that its player also feels the same. Or worse, it could be the opposite. I know that can be easily prevented by a simple OOC message, but still.