Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Tips on progression

T

TheGameMaster

I have a question for some of the advanced players on here (or anyone with knowledge on the subject)

I have a lot of fun game-mastering roleplays in person via tabletop. I love weaving a good story. The problem is that I'm having trouble translating that to written roleplay. Namely, I'm having trouble keeping a good pace.

This isn't difficult in person where the energy of the room keeps things moving forward, but online I always seem to get bogged down. Does anyone have tips on how to keep a plot moving?

[size=-2]When you come up with a plot for an rp, leave room for your potential partner to add their own twists and turns to it. Don't make the plot all about sex, fighting, etc. Balance is key. Read plenty of books, comics, to help with inspiration. Role-playing online is a two way street not a one way street. My point is, you might have an idea of how to move things forward and they might have one as well, instead of forcing yours down their throat, find a way to mix the two of them together. Communicate with your rp partner and bounce ideas off each other. Even the smallest of ideas can grow into something big.[/size]

Those are good points, and I've run into my share of people who could benefit them. My problem isn't that, but more that the momentum to move the story forward isn't there. I often get bogged down in dialogue.