Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Getting too attached?

Admiral Squish

Super-Earth
So, I've got a bit of a problem. It keeps happening, so I'm gonna make a thread about it to see if I can get some real advice on the matter.

I have a problem with girls getting too attached. I RP with them, and we have fun, but then things get wierd. It starts with off-handed comments like 'I missed you at work today', or 'Love you!'. Then they start wanting to know if I'm single. They start dropping hints about their own relationship status. They wanna know where I live. I mean, I'm not technically taken, but I'm not here to date. I just want RP. And there's no way to say I don't want a relationship without sounding like a dick.

Am I the only one this happens to? Is this a common problem? How do you deal with girls (or boys) that get too attached? Is there any way to lose the awkwardness without spoiling the RP?

Yeah, that happens to me a lot. I have yet to figure out a solution because even side stepping the issue hurts their goddamn feelings and makes things not fun anymore. Like, instead of saying, "I'm not looking for a relationship" or "Quit being fuckin' weird you psycho and just post already" I'll say "Things are moving too fast. Maybe I'll give you my cell phone number once I'm more comfortable." I don't put a direct time on "becoming comfortable" so I can continue to sidestep in the future without there being insult. But sidestepping itself has proven to be damaging because things get awkward and I can't seem to have a normal conversation with them again(probably because we've only been talking for a week or two and already she's asking for digits; kinda feels creeperish, bro, if you know what I'm talking about). Sometimes they even seem hurt or pissed off at me and occasionally the role-plays die after that.