Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Raivh's Philosophical Wonderings and Wanderings

I'm a writer and thus am always seeking to be inspired to write stories out in ways where I can be truly happy with them. The ideas will already be in my head, however, finding a means in which I can get my focus to truly express those ideas (and in a way that flows and is also logical as well as 'good'), is truly important. That said, what is inspiration to me so that I can achieve this? Well, it's an emotional feeling, one that allows me to find that focus to express the already formed ideas.

I have found that my triggers for inspiration are quite varied. Sometimes it can be something obvious like music or a scene from a movie. Other times it can be more abstract, like when I just spend time with my kids and an emotion hits me the right way. The emotion, once triggered, might not even be a result of something that seems obvious for what I'm trying to write either. In other words, it really can depend on my current mood. One thing I will say, however, is that when I seek out inspiration with a certain level of gusto and force... it has a tendency to elude me and make me more frustrated. As such, I try my best to let go and let it find me instead. Not always easy to do either. >.<

Also, once inspired, I tend to almost get tunnel vision. It's as if no one can break me from my zone. I will just write and write, holding onto that emotion for as long as it will allow. It's in those moments that I tend to be happiest with my writing (even if it still needs to go through the wringer with editing and proofing and other such things... that can come later, getting the initial idea and story out is something else).