Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Mental Disabilities and RP Discrimination

Anonymityinthedark

Meteorite
So this is a bit of a rant and with any luck a chance to have a open and frank discussion about disclosing disabilities and how in my experance on this sight it has done nothing but shut down RP. So just quickly about me, I have multiple developmental disorders including being on the autism spectrum. Now if I am lucky enpuph to get a reply the answers from my partners seem to drop off shortly after I disclose the fact. It is endlessly frustrating as I want to rp, I have been doing it for over 10 years. There has been the rare instance that the potential partner tells me that they are just not interested. That is fine, my issue comes with when I put the work into world building and make the first post to have my partner ghost me. They update there request thread but don't ever get back to me by and just say that they are not interested.

It makes me feel like I am unimportant, that I am just not worth the time to say sorry. That one word can go along way, growing up I got use to being unincluded in things at least I had an idea that I was not wanted.

In the ever increasingly rare opportunity that I get some ooc messages setting up the story let my potential partner know this and then nothing... it gets bad. It feels like I am not worth the 8 words it takes to say "Sorry, but it is not going to work." It makes me feel less then the dirt underneath your fingernails and makes me feel that I am unwelcome because of my disabilities. I have tools that help with my spelling and grammar but I am not perfect. With every potential partner that ghosts me in feel less and less welcome, and less and less like I belong. It has gotten to the point that I am ready to pack it all up and leave.