Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Isolda's Eyes (Constructive Comments Welcome)

shadowchaser

Planetoid
"Isolda’s Eyes"

I wake from a dreamless sleep, my body covered in a cold sweat. As I become aware of my surroundings I find myself lying on the bed. There are dark crimson stains on the sheets. I know that they are from droplets of spilt blood from my wife Ann

I get out of bed and walk to the small oak dresser. I open the drawer and slide my finger in the gap underneath it. I find the envelope and open it. I look at the picture it contains and re-read the letter. This is where it began.

I had come across the letter by accident. Ann had just left for the day – she’d gone into town to get some new oil paints for her latest project. She was being unusually secretive about it, keeping the study door locked. She had denied me entry for two weeks now.

I work as an accountant in a local branch of a building society – the Nationwide to be precise. I had taken the morning off to de-weed the garden. It was getting near autumn and soon the weather would turn cold and wet, preventing me from comfortably doing any more work on it. I would have pushed for the whole day but there was an important meeting in the afternoon regarding the current financial crisis that was not just affecting us, but a lot of other banks and building societies in the U.K.

Now I was due back at work in two hours and was trying to find my wife’s engagement ring. She had broken the stone off it a month ago and I was going to take it to be fixed and surprise her with it when I came home from work. I knew she kept it in the drawer of the dresser next to her makeup. I opened the draw and as I did so a plain white envelope slid from under it and fell on the floor.