Tips for having long posts without God-Modding

Wapato

Moon
I've been role playing on forums for years, but I'm new to Blue Moon.

One thing that really sticks out as a difference is that expectations about post length are often central to request threads. Now, I get the "no one liners" thing, but a three paragraph post seems about the shortest expectation, while many demand or at least prefer longer. Sometimes much longer.

If my character was off on their own doing things with NPCs that I also write for that would be easy enough. But this is a forum where the characters would seem to be...highly interactive.

Based on my non-erotic RP experience, after a few paragraphs you're at a point where the other player needs to make some decisions.

But folks here do like their long posts so it must work for you. I'm looking for tips on how. Thanks!

I think length expectations are silly, personally. As long as a post gives me enough detail to go off of and respond to, I think that's most important. Requiring a certain amount of paragraphs per post regardless of scene makes RPing more of work than fun to me.

I try to re-read my posts after writing them and see if there's anything I can add that would make the actions clearer, make the environment or character easier to envision, and give at least one clear option for my partner's post to react to, but I think it's a bit ridiculous to measure word count rather than what the post actually does.

TL;DR - Long posts aren't automatically good, and good posts aren't automatically long.