Reject Modernity: Return to Forums? Dead Internet, The Dark Forest, and The Future of the Web

Madam Mim

One Big Modern Mess
So I've fallen down a hole of sorts. There's plenty of discussion on the future of AI, how it'll affect jobs, how it'll affect creative pursuits, etc. There's also been tons of discourse (and Discourse) on the effect of social media and content creation on the internet, creativity, and society. As an information professional, I could go on and on about the latter. But what I'm really interested in is how all of this combines and affects the internet as a whole, as a place, and how we use it. I'm a 30-something Millennial, and most people my age do still remember Web 1.0 even if it was on its way out, and the beginnings of Web 2.0. I pine for the fjords, ya'll. Anyway. As an anticapitalist quasi-Neoluddite who has de-FAANG'd completely (and I do mean completely), who uses Linux so as to remove myself from Microsoft, who finds FOSS alternatives wherever possible, who avoids social media like the plague, and is also now side-eyeing even Reddit after their API kerfuffle and their deal with Google to help them train LLMs, I think my experience of the internet (and technology in general) is a bit different from most. If nothing else, it's far less convenient than most. Thinking in meta terms about the capital-I Internet as a place, how we use it, and the role of corporations in all of this is somewhat of a hobby of mine.