Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

The Obligation of Saying "No"

Rudolph Quin

Mistaken for some sort of scoundrel
Withdrawn
Do you feel you are owed a response when someone doesn't want to role-play with you? Why? Does it bother you when someone doesn't reply or just vanishes without a word? Why? I see this a lot when people complain about role-playing and I find the sense of entitlement in the complaint to be a bit amusing. Looking over different profiles and request threads, I would say a good 70% of the people here have a note somewhere(in their bio, in their sig, in their request thread, etc.) about how you MUST tell them when you're not interested in role-playing with them. With that many people who are upset about being treated that way(and no doubt, they treat others the way they wish to be treated and never just silently ignore notes they'd rather not respond to) you have to wonder where the perpetrators are.

I've been doing this for 4 years and have literally lost my ability to be phased by sudden disappearances which happen so frequently, it is an expected outcome at some point during the process. How many of you have completed a role-play? As in, you guys didn't just decide to quickly tie a knot on it and call it done, but actual beginning, middle and end, finished.

Do you always respond when you get a message, even to tell someone you don't wish to role-play with them? Do you always let your partner know when you're done with a role-play or you aren't going to be around to reply? Personally, I get a boner from telling people "no", so I'll usually respond to unwanted solicitation but I am interested in Blue Moon's odd sense of decorum and the motivation behind it.

Re: Should I RP with you: