Patreon LogoYour support makes Blue Moon possible (Patreon)

Sweeping Up Broken Teeth & Pissing Blood

At the request of a very nice lady I am attempting to bring to you information about hand to hand combat. I am not an expert. I stray from the idea that what I write is some immutable fact. I have studied three martial arts* (Shaolinquan, Qi Gong, Muay Thai and a weird combatives system) for a combined nine years, mostly for funsies, and done a fair share of stupid shit. None of this is an endorsement to stand up to someone and decide to have a fair mono a mono match of fisticuffs; that is one of the dumbest things ever. Trust the guy who has spit out fragments of his own teeth before and tried not to cry when he pissed blood after doing something like that. The title was chosen as a reminder of the consequences of street fights.

But, thankfully, this is more about options your characters can pursue and ways of looking at martial arts to create a fuller, better dramatic scene.

A Fistful of Quick and Dirty Guidelines

1) Close combat is not rock-paper-scissors. Some people like to say things like, "Someone who focuses on grappling will always beat someone who focuses on striking," or, "Shaolinquan beats Taijiquan in three years, Taijiquan beats Shaolinquan in 10," or, "Llamas always beat monks," or similarly silly things like that. In my opinion all statements like that are patently untrue. A lot of those things arise from people who are trying to promote their system.